Raising public awareness and preservation of Stafford Borough Council's cemeteries and crematorium
Notice 23rd April 2020
The burial grounds at the Crematorium at Tixall Road, Stafford are now open to the public again following a recent change in legislation by the Government. Stafford Eccleshall Road cemetery and Stone cemetery are also open to the public.
Click here for more information and advice.
The main ethos of the Friends Group is to raise public awareness and interest in the council’s cemeteries and crematorium, to act as guardian to protect and preserve them for public benefit as places of remembrance, spirituality, history and nature. The group also support Stafford Bereavement Services in developing the facilities for public and community benefit.
National Cemeteries Week
Take a look at the Green Flag Award winning Stafford Crematorium, which is recognised as one of the best in the country. Meet the staff and go behind the scenes at the facilities, including the state-of-the-art cremators.
Eccleshall Road, Stafford
Eccleshall Road Cemetery in Stafford was first opened by Stafford Borough Council in 1856 and was the first in Britain to use the pre-formed burial chambers system.
Stafford Crematorium was opened in 1964 and has memorial areas including sanctums, Dovecote Memorial Garden and Children's Memorial.
Stone Cemetery was opened in 1903 and has a unique woodland burial area and wetland area which is home to many different types of wildlife.